Uriel’s Immigration Defense Fund

uriel kids

Our family needs help raising money to retain a new immigration attorney for my husband, Uriel. The previous attorney we had requested to withdraw from our case because they said they couldn’t handle the complexities of my husband’s case. We paid that attorney over $8,000 over the past 6 years despite them never actually having to present a deportation defense for my husband’s removal proceedings.

As of right now, my husband is being detained in Haskell, TX after immigration issued an I.C.E hold over an arrest for a pending felony charge of fleeing the scene of accident involving serious bodily injury.

Uriel has received no due process over this arrest, but once he is finally granted due process, we will be ready to invoke his right to a trial in front a jury of his peers should his criminal attorney be unable to get this case dismissed.

Due to his continued detention, I.C.E has complicated his case and prevented obtaining his release because they refused to take him to his arraignment in Denton County.

I.C.E’s actions in cooperation with the Denton County Sheriff’s office have directly violated some of my husband’s rights to due process.

We need Uriel to be granted his rights to due process and can only do so by hiring a new immigration attorney.

The immigration attorney we’d like to hire to represent my husband to takeover his deportation defense and secure my husband’s release requires a $1,000 retainer fee.

We need to pay his retainer ASAP, but by at least August 18, 2014 so that he can prepare a bond application to secure my husband’s release on the lowest bond possible before the hearing which is set for August 26, 2014.

The faster we pay his retainer, the sooner he’ll be able to prepare my husband’s bond application to possibly secure release on bond before that August 26th hearing. The retainer is covering services for the bond application and to get the attorney to being preparing my husband’s deportation defense. He will require $6,500 total, but will begin the process for securing Uriel’s release with the $1,000 retainer.

As some of you may know, our youngest son, Cristobal is having surgery on August 29th to have his tonsils and adenoids removed to assist with his sleep apnea. Our family would very much like to be able to have Uriel home in time to be with our son for his surgery.

Every little bit has and will continue to help our family achieve our goal of bringing Uriel home.

To keep our fundraising for my husband’s release transparent, once we achieve the goal of $1,000 we will pay the retainer immediately and provide a receipt of the payment as well as a pdf of all the transactions received that pertain to this fundraiser. I will block out names to maintain our friends and family’s privacy.

I want to make sure I thank every single friend and family member that has supported our family during these tribulations we’re confronting. Your prayers, encouragement, and donations in support of my family has truly brought our family comfort and a feeling of being blessed by at least the people who love us and who we love in return.

Nobody is defined on how they choose to support our family, so please trust me when I say prayers are needed and are just as valuable as any other form of support., Please keep our family in your vigilant prayers.

Thanks again to all.

Please click ‘donate’ to help our family raise the $1,000 needed

Donate Button with Credit Cards

For more detailed explanations about the current immigration nightmare our family is facing, please visit my blog: No Border Between Families and Human Dignity

Leave a comment